top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTassia Burgess

Why Surrogacy is the Ultimate Side-hustle

Updated: Sep 18, 2023

Okay, so if you're thinking side-hustle in terms of something quick and easy, this isn't it. However, as far as being able to work while staying at home with your kid(s) full time or being able to keep your current job, surrogacy is the jackpot! In case you're not completely familiar with what surrogacy is, I'll give you a quick rundown. A gestational surrogate is someone who has a fertilized embryo implanted into their uterus, and carries the baby for another parent/set of parents. The following are just a few great reasons why becoming a gestational carrier is a great option to provide some extra income for your family.


1. You can still be a full-time SAHM

A majority of mothers struggle with deciding whether to be a stay-at-home mom or to go to work. Of course the big dilemma there is that daycare and nannies cost so much, it is often not financially feesable to get a job once those costs are factored in. Many women also just want to be able to stay home to raise their own children. Finding jobs that don't take you away from your children are far and few between. This is where surrogacy was a life-saver for me! I wanted to do something fulfilling outside of my calling as a mother. I wanted to be able to contribute to our family financially. I was able to bring in a steady income without sacrificing quality time with my kids! During my pregnancy I was able to take my children to parks, kayaking, volunteer for the PTVO at school, make meals, snuggle, and put them to bed every night. Being able to be there was so valuable to me. Those are memories I (and hopefully they) will cherish forever.


2. It's a fulfilling job

For me, it is so important to find a job where I feel like I'm making a difference. If I am going to spend my time and energy doing something, I want it to be worth-while, and I want it to benefit someone other than myself. Saying that surrogacy is the most fulfilling thing I have ever done (other than have my own children, of course 😉), is an understatement. There is something so powerful and sacred about helping another family create life! Being able to watch a couple become parents for the first time was indescribable. Watching them as their baby grows is so beautiful. I can almost guarantee you won't find something more rewarding than this!


3. You don't have to quit your current job

If you do currently have a part or full-time job, you can still become a surrogate! Many gestational carriers are able to keep their current jobs throughout most of their pregnancy and take a maternity leave, just like you would with your own child! Having 2 streams of income can be so helpful. One surrogacy journey can provide your family with a down payment on a house, a new car, or help you become debt-free!


4. It pays well

A first-time surrogate will receive a base pay of $45,000. In addition to that, there are other fees paid out, such as maternity clothing, transfer fee, start of medication cycle, childcare reimbursement, etc. These fees can add up to an additional $9,000 or so in payments. If you choose to breastfeed or pump, you can also get paid additional money for that as well!


Wondering if you qualify to become a surrogate? Take a look at the requirements here. Have questions? Contact me, or AFS!


Ready to apply? I'd love to see your name come through!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page